The Key to Making Gains is Not Talking About it

Listen, I get it. I really do. You work out your chest on Monday, do a beach workout on Friday, and probably take creatine every day in between. You have your pump up playlist on Spotify, and probably just bought the new Beats By Dre Bluetooth Power Beats to workout in.

The gym is a magical place. Its made Jen Selter famous, caused me to lose my baby fat, and allowed players like Bonds and McGuire to hit home runs on a swing the average player would pop out to right field with. But actually, it’s a place where anyone can run off some steam, get an early pump in, or just feel good about his or herself.

The word associated with the gym I hear most often is “gains”. The definition of “gains” is essentially the results one wants to see from hitting the gym. Whether it’s gaining weight, losing a pant size, increasing a vertical, or squatting a certain amount, there is always something one needs to improve on.

Honestly, I wish everyone worked out. I enjoy walking into the Penn State gyms and seeing a multitude of beautiful girls on every elliptical and across every ab-mat. The spring break countdown is cool; the social aspect of it doesn’t disappoint, and it’s also a healthy way to spend an hour of a day you’re most likely going to drink away after 9 pm.

I’ve been around the block when it comes to working out. I’ve had trainers, taken classes, worked out on my own, not worked out, etc. Through all my years of working out I’ve really only been able to come to one conclusion about making gains. Yes, everyone has different body types, different goals, and different reasons for going to the gym….However..

The key to making gains at the gym is NOT talking about your gains. I promise you, it will work out better for you in the long run. Yeah, who doesn’t love the occasional snap story at the gym, or the 6 AM rise and grind workout? I’ve been there, you’ve been there, let’s face it: We love other people knowing we’re working out while they’re most likely smothering their faces with bagels and buffalo chicken.

Buuut…you want to make actual gains? Keep the gym talk to yourself. I would love to hear about your 5 team 20 dollar parlay that won you a bottle of Goose at Saloon, or your fantasy football player who had 3 touchdowns. I would love to hear about the girl you bagged the other night, or the reason you bogeyed the last hole instead of birdying it. Just don’t walk into the room telling everyone how much you squatted last Tuesday.

We celebrated America’s birthday this past weekend…and now it’s time to celebrate chest day at your local gym.

Leave a Reply

